The beginnings of the blast overs

IMG_8142-2.JPG

IMG_8273-1.JPG

So Thursday saw the beginnings of one huge tattoo project. Covering badly burned and scarred skin and bad existing tattoos.
I have previously blogged about this particular journey and I’m so excited to update the blog with the progress!
When I got to the shop I spent a long time discussing options with the artist, who I have full trust in! what the possibilities were. I had expectations of having to get two very large dark pieces (which I was totally
Okay with) and that would engulf all the bad stuff and finish my leg off.
But it turns out that I have more white space than I realised and so the decision was made to do lots of small blastovers. A blastover is a kind of cover up but it lacks the same “completeness” that a cover up promises. They are usually black in place of colour and occasionally the previous tattoos colours can be seen underneath. Some people perceive them as crude or unfinished but I really like them, and it’s my leg right?
I searched for designs and eventually chose a hand with a rose, and a heart with a dagger and scroll. I got my daughters name in the heart.
The hand made use of the most negative (white space) and the roses covered a large piece of scarring. The heart has some purple coming through it and it looks almost tye dyed.
I am so pleased with this project and it’s just the beginning. We discussed what to do next and in order to minimise large awkward gaps, the shin will be the next stage to tattoo. I think I’m going to get my knee and foot done too, because the other leg has those and I want to have some level of symmetry.
I feel very lucky.
Here are some fresh photos!
Tattoos by Joe Ellis at Sacred Electric, Leeds UK.

IMG_8229-0.JPG

IMG_8179.JPG

IMG_8198-0.JPG

Leave a comment